Under the Dome: The Book Came First (But the TV Show Rocks)

Under_the_Dome_Final

I’ve been watching Under the Dome Season One. My first impression still stand: I prefer the book-but then again, I’m a book guy. I will always prefer the book. The Harry Potter films, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Princess Bride; it doesn’t matter which films they are, I will always prefer the book.

However, since watching the first season of Under the Dome aired, I’ve had one line from the show running through my head. It’s a line spoken by Julia Shumway, played on the show by Rachel Lefevre. It stuck with me.

After Dale Barbara saved Julia from dying in an epidemic, she wakes and turns to him. She says: “Was it you? The one who saved me?”

At the time, it struck me as a horribly corny line, but out of the whole show, that’s been the one that stuck with me. Odd right? However, I couldn’t get it out of my head.

So, I asked for the first season for Christmas and got it. I did a little skip of joy inside when I opened the wrapping. Although my first impression of the show was

download (1)

based on a book lovers reaction, now I could watch the season again and just enjoy it. And you know what? It’s pretty freaking awesome.

I’m about to start episode 8 and I love it. I’ve become really involved in the characters, the ever shifting story lines, the sub-plots. the mystery and intrigue. The story has me hooked. I vaguely remember what happens from watching it the first time around, but I missed a few episodes.

Either way, it rocks and feels like we’re watching a Stephen King novel. It’s like a mirror of its literary cousin, three times removed.  The show is different from the novel, almost completely, but Under the Dome the show and the book are awesome in their own way.

I can’t wait to find out what happens next, all over again. It’s like re-reading a book, but in video!

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Stephen King, Television. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

