Bjork Over Beer – A Poem

She sat across from me,bjork-in-concert

the sparkles under her eyes

catching the light like

little stars that brightened

and faded as the light

shone on them

“When I saw you this summer at the Bjork concert, you were so different than how you used to be. You were soft spoken and mild mannered.”

I remembered.

I took a sip of beer,

it’s darkness in contrast

to the brightness I

held inside of me.

“I was a different person then. I was bogged down with everything, with how to handle it, with what my life had become.”

She looked at me

over the rim of her glass,

“What changed for you? I mean, now you’re who you were, you’re swearing, you have life in you again, you’ve got it going on and you’re back to your fabulous self.”

I thought about it

for a moment,

unsure how to articulate

what I wanted to say.

“I had two choices. I could wallow and give up, or I could live. I chose to live. I’m a different person now, but so much better for it.”

She clinked my glass,

the sound like bells

and I wondered if an angel

would get it’s wings.

“I’ll drink to that. It’s good to have you back.”

I smiled and drank,

the beer cool in my throat.

“It’s good to be back. I’m not going to go away again.”

I took another sip of beer

and thought about how

my life had changed.

I realised then that

the lightness inside of me

had a name. It was

happiness

and I promised myself

that I would always carry

it with me.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

