A Gift of Joy – A Poem

I was in a dark mood,ladyreading

had been for days.

I walked down the

sidewalk and I passed by

a homeless woman.

I walked a little further

and then stopped.

Here was something

that I could do,

something that would

make me feel better.

I took out a handful

of change and walked

back to the homeless woman.

I put the money

into her battered

McDonald’s cup,

thinking she was probably

going to spend it on

booze or drugs.

It didn’t matter,

I had done my good deed.

I went into the bookstore

to give myself

a Zen moment and

the homeless woman

walked in behind me.

“Do you have that book you put on hold for me? I finally have enough! I got enough to get my book!”

The man behind

the cash went to get

her book and

I stood there, stunned.

I had assumed that

she’d be using the

money I’d given her

for something else

entirely. Never did it

occur to me that

she’d buy a book.

She stood there

holding the book

like a child and

the look on her face,

one of sheer joy

and absolute bliss,

was all I needed

to chase my dark mood

away.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

