In Time – A Poem

I was in a shop that sold time.watch

The shop was filled with tick tocking

and soft plinks as grains of sand

hit against glass. All kinds of watches

were on display. As I looked around

the shop, I noticed the people within.

They were all men I had been with,

men that I had loved, at one time

or another. They all turned towards me.

Each came closer, holding out

a watch for me. The first

held out a watch made from

glass, it’s strap covered

in shards that would only

draw blood from me.

“You would look wonderful wearing this.”

I backed away from him.

“No, I don’t want that.”

The next man held out a watch

with a strap made from barbed wire.

“You should wear this one.”

I pushed it away. “I can’t wear that.”

Then one held out a woman’s watch,

covered in pearls and rubies.

“This one would look great on you.”

“No.” I said. “It wouldn’t.”

The next man held out a watch made from

steel and it looked heavy and cold.

“This is your watch.” He said.

I shook my head again.

“No, it’s not.” I turned and looked

at the room of men I had

loved and shook my head.

“None of you knew me at all.” I said.

“I choose none of the watches.”

I looked at each of the men in the eye,

met each of their stares with my own.

“I tell my own time now.”

When I left the shop,

It was without a watch but with

all the time in the world.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Time – A Poem

  1. Have I told you before how much I love the imagery in your poems?

Leave a Reply

