We Are Our Passions – A Poem

“How’s your writing going?”hand typing on keyboard

I told him

that I was

half way through

my current novel,

that I had

written a bunch

of poems and

short stories. He

nodded, looking serious.

“I don’t see how you can write so much. You’re always going out.”

He was a

person that lived

in my building,

but he was

also a photographer.

I shrugged nonchalantly.

“Well, I have to go to work. It pays the bills.”

He looked smug

for a second

before he said:

“So you’re not a writer.”

“I’m sorry?”

I was confused.

“What do you mean?”

His look of

smugness intensified and

he actually laughed.

“Well, anyone that doesn’t support themselves with their writing is not a writer. It’s merely a hobby.”

I was stunned

at his rudeness.

“Do you support yourself with your photography?”

If possible, he

looked even more

smug. His smile

was like a

streak of oil

across his face.

“I do actually.”

“And how’s that working out for you?”

His smile faltered

a little bit.

“I do well enough.”

He said, but

there was a

bluster to his

statement. I looked

him right in

the eye, not

backing down from

his smug stare.

“Let me make something perfectly clear. Whether or not I support myself with my writing doesn’t make me any less of a writer. The same goes for all artists, musicians and even photographers.”

“Yes, but-“

I cut him

off. I didn’t

want to hear

anything else he

had to say.

“Writing is what I’m most passionate about. It’s how I live, how I breathe, how I survive. That is why I’m a writer, though and through. And you know what? It’s only a matter of time before I am doing what I love for a living.”

I watched him

deflate a little

bit, a stooping

of the shoulders.

I walked away

from him and

went back into

my apartment to

do what I

love most and

with every word

I put down

on paper, I

found more of

myself waiting there

to bleed through

the page.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Poems, Talking with the Eath and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Are Our Passions – A Poem

Leave a Reply

