I Wish… – A Poem

imagesAs I was walking home,

I saw a man with

the bluest eyes. They were

a dark and vibrant blue,

the colour of a sky after

a storm has cleared.

I had a flash from

my youth, a wish to be

other than I was,

to not look as I did.

I had always wanted

blond hair and blue eyes.

For reasons unknown to me,

this was what I identified

as beautiful. As I

walked away from the

blue eyed man,

I whispered over and over:

“I wish, I wish, I wish….”

I stopped there, however.

What did I wish exactly?

Though my life was not

what I thought it would be,

I was happy.

Though I did not look

like everyone else,

I loved myself,

every part of me,

even my imperfections.

If I changed one iota

of who I was,

or what I looked like,

I would not be on

the path I was on today.

My life would be

different than it was now.

It wouldn’t be the life

that I was living

but someone else’s.

I was finally happy

inside my own skin

and content with the life

that I’ve been given.

So instead, I simply said

“I wish…”

and left it at that.

For to wish for something

is to invite the possibility

of magic

into your life.

As I walked home,

the air around me began

to sparkle and shine

and I knew that

I was already

magical.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Poems, Talking to the Flame. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

