Dance Across the Page – A Poem

In the dream,index

I’m talking about

my writing, about

the novel I’m

working on, the

poems that I’m

writing, the short

stories I’m bringing

to life. I

see myself in

the dream and

my face looks

so lively, animated.

I happen to

look down at

my feet and

see that, for

some reason, I’m

wearing dance shoes.

They are leaving

ink stains on

the floor as

I walk along

with my companion.

Then I look

closer and see

that the floor

is made out

of paper, that

I am leaving

footprints shaped like

words behind me.

I wake, only

for a moment,

wondering what the

dream meant. When

sleep finds me

once again, I

find myself in

another dream. I’m

talking to a

fellow writer about

the dream I

just had. I’m

looking at her

in bewildered confusion.

“I just don’t understand what the dream meant.”

I tell her.

“I don’t understand what it was trying to tell me.”

She gives me

a look of

patience, as if

the meaning behind

the dream should

have been obvious.

“I think the meaning is pretty clear. You’re a writer. You can’t keep your words bottled up. You have to dance across the page.”

I wake with

a start, wondering

at the almost

dream within a

dream, at what

my subconscious was

telling me. I

feel the urge

to write, I

need to write.

It is who

I am.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Talking Poems, Talking to the Flame and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dance Across the Page – A Poem

Leave a Reply

