The Love Tree – A Poem

I was wanderingdownload

in the forest.

The sky was

filled with stars

that shone bright

lighting my path

and leading the

way, shining yellow

against an indigo

sky. I could see

red ladybugs flying

past me and

landing on leaves

as green as

an emerald. I

walked further and

watched as the

sky turned to

daylight, the orange

sun brilliant against

the blue sky.

I came upon

a tree covered

in violet coloured

flowers. There were

words written on

the leaves and

I tried to

read them, but

time passed quickly

here. The leaves

turned brown and

were swept off

of the tree

by the wind,

words floating into

the distance to

make a poem

in the sky.

Only one leaf

was left upon

the tree. I

wondered what word

was written upon

it and got

closer so I

could see. The

leave was still

bright green and

I leaned in

close to read

the scrawl of

letters upon its

surface. It read:

LOVE.

As I wondered

about what love

was to me,

I heard a voice

on the other

side of the

tree. Looking through

its branches, I

saw you there,

calling to me.

I touched the

tree branches to

get a closer

look at you

and the tree

erupted into bloom,

leaves of every

colour imaginable covered

its surface. The

light around you

grew brighter still.

I walked around

the tree, stepping

over a small

stream, the earth

under my feet

lush and green,

the air around

me smelling of

honeysuckle, the fire

of the sun

bright against my

skin. I went

to you and

embraced you. As

I felt your

heart beating in

time with mine,

I let out

a breath I

hadn’t even known

I was holding.

The rainbow coloured

leaves flew from

the tree, filling

the sky like

shimmering lights and

I was content

in the knowledge

that I finally

knew what love

really was.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Info, Letting the Water Flow, Poems, Talking Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

