The Family Tree – A Poem

The idea offamilytreebutton

family is foreign

to me. Growing

up, I had

a family, but

I always felt

like I didn’t

belong. I was

the black sheep

wearing a second

skin, the unknowable

one, bearing myself

to every one,

the odd one

out. I was

alone within my

family. I never

fit in. I

wanted too much,

needed too much.

I loved the

wrong people. They

were not my

family. Since then,

I’ve built a

family of the

heart, friends that

I love like

sisters and brothers,

a family chosen

with the heart

and not by

chance. When I

met my partner,

I knew that

he had a

large family, a

mother and uncles,

aunts and cousins.

I worried over

this, not having

much experience at

fitting in to

a family, being

part of a

tribe. I didn’t have

that within my

roots, so could

I find that

within the leaves?

I approached this

family unit with

some trepidation. How

should I behave?

He looked over

at me and said:

“They’re going to love you as much as I do.”

Over time, I

grew to know

all of them.

They were good

people, kind people.

They proved to

me that families

didn’t have to

be broken or

dysfunctional. They could

be a unit,

be a tribe.

As more time

passed, the branches

on the tree

that rested inside

of me began

to grow new

buds and grow

new growth. As

even more time

passed, I grew

to love them.

Recently, while at

a family gathering,

one of the

uncles looked at

me and said:

“I’m so glad your part of this family.”

The leaves unfurled

completely and flowers

started to bloom.

I was no

longer the black

sheep. I was

one of them.

 

 

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Info, Letting the Water Flow, Poems, Talking Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

