Taking Off the Mask – A Poem

“You gotta be careful when you take that mask off.”smaller

She said.

I looked at

her and the

shadows that emanated

off of her.

I knew she

was going through

a dark time,

that she felt

the loss of

her husband as

if it were yesterday.

“What do you mean?”

I asked.

She gave me

a sage look

and said:

“People wear masks all the time. You never truly know anyone. You only know what they show you.”

I thought of

what I chose

to show the

world, what I

chose to let

others see. As

I thought about

this, I reached

up to touch

my face, to

see if I

could feel any

masks there. I

didn’t feel any

ridges or markings

that would denote

a mask. I

wondered if I

lived without one.

Later, while walking

on the sand,

the ocean filling

the air with

its music, I

looked at the

man I loved so

deeply. I could

see no mask

there. Even so,

I reached up

and touched his

face and felt

a ridge there.

I slowly pulled

the mask away

only to see

his face just

as I knew

it. He reached

up and pulled

away the mask

I wore, too.

“Do I look different?”

He shook his

head and said:

“You look just as you always do to me. Beautiful.”

It occurred to

me that maybe

there were people

we were comfortable

enough to just

be ourselves completely,

and what a

marvelous gift we

had given each other.

I took his hand

and we walked

on, letting the

masks fall away

to the sand.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Info, Letting the Water Flow, Poems, Talking Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

