What the Rainbow Means to Me – A Poem

When I was young,smaller

I knew that there was

something different about me.

I shone too brightly,

but had no words

to put a name to

the magic that was within me.

Growing up, I was always told

that being gay was

a bad thing,

unnatural,

a horrible sin,

I was taught to fear gay people,

which meant fearing myself.

I was fourteen when

I saw my first rainbow.

The flag was flying outside

of a shop. I wondered

what it could mean.

When I found out

that it symbolized gay Pride,

that it encompassed a whole rainbow

of people like me,

I was overjoyed.

A rainbow represents joy,

the possibility of magic

and it is a gift that the sky

bestows upon us.

When I finally did come out,

the first thing I did

was to go and buy

a pendant with the Pride colours.

I wore them knowing that

I should not hide who I am

or the magic that resides within.

To me, the Pride flag meant

that I could be proud,

that we are all one

and the same.

The rainbow united us

with its message of hope

of acceptance and love.

And in its bright light,

I finally felt comfortable

in my own skin.

About Jamieson Wolf

Jamieson an award winning, Number One Best Selling Author. He writes in many different genre's. Learn more at www.jamiesonwolf.com
This entry was posted in Info, Poems, Spirit Poems, Talking Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

